A random thought

So a co-worker of mine was talking to me a few minutes ago about her schedule.  Apparently, she goes to bed at 10:30pm every day, and doesn’t require an alarm to get up.

Personally 10:30 is a bit early.  I feel as though I would be “wasting” a couple hours in the evening if I went to bed at that time, and I’d have a hard time turning my brain off.  I typically go to bed anywhere from 12:30-2am, with 2am being pretty much the cutoff point (usually only if I’m watching the end of a movie or something).

If we get up at the same time, which we do, that means that I get 2 more hours of “awake time” than her.  Let’s add that up:

365 x 2 = 730 hours

730/24 = 30.41666 days.

So, by going to bed two hours later than her each evening, even though I am not actually doing anything “productive” (honestly how much do you get done between the hours of 10:30 and 12:30?) I am still awake a full month more than her every year.  I suppose you could argue that she gets a month more sleep than I do, but I can function on 6-7 hours of sleep without a problem. 

The moral of the story?  If you want your life to seem longer, don’t go to bed so damn early.  You might not live as long, but it will sure feel like you did!!

~ by prometheus0110 on April 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
